Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Green Dot's board

Here's a list of Green Dot board members who made the decision to close the Animo Justice school.
  • Steve Barr – Founder & Chair Emeritus, Green Dot Public Schools
  • Shane Martin – Chairman of the Board, Dean of Loyola Marymount Graduate School of Education
  • Charisse Bremond-Weaver – President & CEO, Brotherhood Crusade
  • Oscar De La Hoya – Professional Boxer, Philanthropist and Businessman
  • Glenn Dryfoos – Senior Vice President - Business Affairs, Univision Communications
  • Susan Estrich – Professor, University of Southern California Gould School of Law
  • Abigail Garcia – President, Asociacion de Maestros Unidos
  • Mike Garcia – President, Service Employees International Union Local 1877
  • Richard Leib – Executive Vice President, Liquid Environmental Solutions
  • Noah Mamet – President, Mamet & Associates
  • Pam Rector – Director of the Center for Service and Action, Loyola Marymount
  • Richard Schaefer – Chief Executive Officer, Golden Boy Promotions
  • Jeff Shell – President, Comcast Programming, Comcast Communications
  • Timothy Watkins – President and CEO, Watts Labor Community Action Committee
  • Ted Mitchell – Chief Executive Officer, NewSchools Venture Fund
  • Don Shalvey – Ed.D. Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation


  1. Ted Mitchell is also the President of the California State Board of Education.

    Just yesterday, two Green Dot reps (Ellen Lin, developer of new schools, and Kelly Hurley, cluster director at Locke) presented to the Texas Senate Committee on Education about their CMO. Their presentation is available here and begins at the 3 hour and 15 minute mark of the 3/22 meeting. They did not mention the Justice school closure, but Hurley did mention Green Dot was thinking of opening two middle schools (and it appears one of those schools will be in the existing Justice building).

  2. Thanks for this. Let's print up a deck of cards.


Agree? Disagree? Let me hear from you.